A VERY IMPORTANT POSTCARD

IMGP0234

This Red Cross postcard falling through their letterbox was the moment when my grandparents knew for certain that my father was alive. He had been taken prisoner at the fall of Tobruk on the 21st June 1942. Unfortunately the postcard is not dated but I have two letters from the War Office. One dated the 17th July stating that my father was missing-in-action and then one on the 7th September stating he was a prisoner of war. So it was at least two months before they knew he was definitely alive.

This is what it says:

My dear Mummy,
I am alright (I have not been wounded). I am a prisoner of the Italians and I am being treated well.
Shortly I shall be transferred to a prisoner’s camp and I will let you have my new address.
Only then will I be able to receive letters from you and to reply
With love from Bobby

IMGP0235

What a relief it must have been for them to receive this. It’s not surprising that they could never bring themselves to throw this postcard away. Nor could my mother when she was clearing out the house after my grandparents died. These kinds of documents come down through the generations for a reason.

I can’t help but find it incredibly touching and I love the Italian version of ‘with love’ – SALUTI AFFETTUOSI.

Their son was alive!

2 thoughts on “A VERY IMPORTANT POSTCARD

  1. How amazing to have this physical piece of such a vital part of your Father’s life. Somehow, using ‘Mummy’ in the postcard makes him seem so young. How old was he?
    A true heirloom.
    Saluti Affettuosi indeed!

    Like

  2. Thank you for your comment! I also find his use of ‘Mummy’ particularly touching. He was twenty-five but he always called his parents Mummy and Daddy. I think maybe that was more common for that generation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

