BOOKS REVIEWS: THE VEGETARIAN, RING ROADS AND THE NIGHT WATCH

IMG_1261

The Vegetarian by Han Kang.

First up The Vegetarian by South Korean writer Han Kang. The structure is a triptych of stories. The first one is written from the point of view of the husband of the woman who becomes the vegetarian. The second from the point of view of her brother-in-law, an artist who becomes obsessed with her, and the final one from the perspective of her sister. On the face of it this is a book about a woman described by her husband as ‘unremarkable in every way’ who decides to give up meat, something which is highly unorthodox in South Korean culture. The consequences of this decision play out in startlingly violent, erotic and destructive ways. The silence or inability of the woman to really explain what she is doing lies at the heart of this mysterious and challenging book. It is clear that she is protesting but the reader is left to decide for themselves what her protest is about.  To my mind her protest is against male violence and control, and  her body is the battleground she chooses for her protest but I suspect there are all sorts of other interpretations you could make. The book has haunted me since I read it and I can’t recommend it highly enough. The translation by Deborah Smith is a thing of beauty. I’m looking forward to reading Han Kang’s most recent book Human Acts which was published at the beginning of the year and has received very good reviews.

IMG_1258

The Night Watch by Patrick Modiano

Next up Patrick Modiano, the French writer  who won The Nobel Prize for Literature in 2014. The two I’ve read are Ring Roads and The Night Watch. Neither are easy reads and I have some sympathy with an Amazon reviewer who said of one of them, ‘I didn’t finish this book because I didn’t really understand what he was going on about.’ The ones I read are published by Bloomsbury and the translation seemed to me clunky. It strikes me that the books could have done with a decent introduction contextualizing the books and giving some explanation as to why Modiano won the prize. To read them ‘cold’ is a bit of a baffling experience. Both books are set during the occupation of France during the Second World War. There is a large cast of characters, black marketeers, spivs, prostitutes, spies and undercover policemen. The atmosphere is dog eat dog. To begin with I found them confusing and slightly dull. It’s hard to distinguish one crook from another and there isn’t much plot as such. My best description is of a Virginia Woolf novel mixed up with a bit of Simenon.

IMG_1257

Ring Roads by Patrick Modiano

There were however two moments, one in each book, which stood out. SPOILER ALERT. In Ring Roads a father suddenly attempts to kill his son and from that point the book gets a lot more interesting. In The Night Watch a man is in a house that has been abandoned and dresses up in women’s clothes and make up.

“In a trunk she left behind several dresses from Worth. One night I slipped on the most beautiful among them: a peau-de-soie with imitation tulle and garlands of pink convolvulus. I have never been tempted by transvestisism, but in that moment my situation seemed so hopeless and my loneliness so great that I determined to cheer myself up by putting on some nonsensical act.”

I’ve got another one of his books Missing Person published by Godine and Verbamundi and will give that a go. Maybe the translation is better. Maybe Modiano will grow on me. I hope so. If there’s anyone out there who has read him I’d be interested in any recommendations you might have. Do you think he is a writer who I’m likely to enjoy the more I read him or should I give up now? Do you think you have to be French to fully appreciate him?

8 thoughts on “BOOKS REVIEWS: THE VEGETARIAN, RING ROADS AND THE NIGHT WATCH

    • Hi Mel, The Vegetarian is excellent and disturbing. I’m going to keep trying with the Modiano for a bit – I think I may have to read them in a different way, possibly a French way!

      Like

  1. I’ve only read a litlle Modiano and the words ‘seriously underwhelmed’ spring to mind. In fact, it was a collection of three stories, Suspended Sentences, and I abandoned it halfway through the final one. Even in that short space, I felt he was saying the same thing again and again – memory is uncertain, basically. I’ve seen several glowing reviews of various of his works since, but they almost always suggest he’s still talking about the same thing – maybe he forgot he’d already written about it… 😉

    Like

    • Hi Fiction Fan it’s puzzling isn’t it when someone wins a whopper prize and you are left wondering why? I’m getting on better with Missing Person – it’s less confusing, better translated maybe or perhaps I’m just getting used to him!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Modiano has been rising on my ‘list’ for a while but I think he’s just gone down a few notches…Thanks for the Han Kang recommendation – not everyday you read a Korean review!

    Like

    • Hi Colin I’m finding Missing Person an easier read than the other two. I’m always curious when people win prizes. There are very few books translated from Korean into English but The Vegetarian is a corker and I’m looking forward to Human Acts.

      Like

Leave a Reply

