CHANDLER ON COFFEE

“I went out to the kitchen to make coffee – yards of coffee. Rich, strong, bitter, boiling hot, ruthless, depraved. The life blood of tired (wo)men.” THE LONG GOODBYE

brown coffee beans

Photo by Vitaly Vlasov on Pexels.com

During the first lock down, once I had stocked up on loo roll,  my main fear was running out of coffee. Obviously a lot of people felt the same because to start with I couldn’t get any. I had some stores but I was fretting. Obviously displacement fretting but all the same fretting. And then I went shopping one day and lo and behold packs of coffee so hurrah and snatch snatch off the shelf. It was only when I got home that I realised they were packets of beans and I have no grinder. I did consider smashing them up with a hammer or a rolling pin; I certainly felt cross enough to do that but my partner dissuaded me and then ground coffee became available fairly soon afterwards and so the bags of beans were shoved to the back of the cupboard. 

Time passed.  

I live opposite a car showroom and this came out of lock down quite early. Lester was the man who used to work for them washing the cars and cleaning the forecourt etc… Lester knew everyone in the district because he used to hang out in the open and chat.  The car show room is situated at the beginning of a cut through which follows along the base of an overground part of the London tube which is lined with garages. It is used by a lot of people and Lester was one of those people who talks to everyone.  Lester kept the cars and forecourt immaculate and did so with very little fuss and other than friendly chat, and a bit of hail fellow well met, not much noise. Unfortunately he also occasionally took to the bottle so  he was fired and everyone missed him.

A replacement was hired who, for the purposes of this post, I’ll call LBM (Leafblower Man). He wears a bright orange jump suit and has a leaf blower which he loves. I became aware of him and the leaf blower because it  was a new and persistent noise. I am used to noise. If you live on a busy main road with the tube rumbling past, and the skip lorries taking the corner at pace and the jingle jangle of the chains that hold them in place you either get used to it or you go mad. I am also used to the very distinctive whine that bus engines make when trapped in traffic.

The leaf blower drove me nuts because it was on so long and he was using it in such a hopeless way. So I took to watching LBM from the window with a running commentary of why I found him so irritating and how there were still lots of leaves under the cars which he had not blown out and that he was simply blowing the leaves into the bicycle lane and the wind was blowing them back and what was the point of that and Lester would quietly have raked them up and put them in green bags while shooting the breeze with whoever etc etc and making everyone feel better about life. So I went on like this until my partner told me to stop.

two coffee latte

Photo by Anna Urlapova on Pexels.com

Then one day I looked at the beans and I thought I have to buy a coffee grinder, so I did. This was about six months after buying the beans. I am what is called a late adopter. And on the first day I was happily grinding my beans and I realised how much I was enjoying making a new and not very persistent noise. And now, strangely enough, LBM no longer annoys me. All it has taken is 20 seconds a day in order to drink my own ruthless, strong depraved …. etc. 

So, have you got anything sitting in your cupboard that you bought in a panic/by mistake in the beginning of lockdown? Or have you bought a new gadget? Tell me about it. Has anyone out there got a milk frother?

6 thoughts on “CHANDLER ON COFFEE

  1. We did have a little electric whisk milk frother thingy that I think came with one of those coffee gift sets – it didn’t get used much and eventually went to the gadget graveyard in the sky…..They use those leaf blowers on the business park I (used to have to) go to sometimes for work and they irritated me for noise but also because they stink of petrol, which then got me on to thinking about the sheer futility of leaf blowing………anyway, it sounds like you needed that coffee but I was very amused by your irritation leading up to it 🙂 P.S. after not being able to get toilet roll at all for ages, we tried getting it from various places so we now have enough to last until next year…..

    Liked by 1 person

    • A friend recently told me if I wanted to froth milk all I needed to do was put some milk in a cafetiere and plung the plunger up and down and I thought if I did that I’d end up looking as if I’d jumped into a vat of milk! Truth is I feel particularly bitter about LBM because I was very fond of Lester who was one of those unusual individuals, who however low my mood always made me feel better about life. A very lovely and welcome characteristic.

      Like

  2. My neighbour has a leaf blower and even uses it on windy days, which is just silly. But he obviously gets enormous pleasure from it and I’m sure it’s the noise it makes that he likes… I have a gigantic bag of dried milk in my cupboard, obviously fearing the cows would all run dry and that I’d have to suck rather than soak my morning oats. I suspect that bag might be in that cupboard for a while longer…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment